Subcommittee on Weather Training and Best Practices

 

Participants: 

James Luciani  NOAA  james.luciani@noaa.gov        Cole Cosgrove    Crowley  Coleman.Cosgrove@crowley.com 
Rob Niemeyer NOAA rob.niemeyer@noaa.gov   Bob Sheen Ocean Shipholdings   rvs@oceanshipholdings.com
Rusty Albaral  NOAA  rusty.albaral@noaa.gov    Tom Bushy
captaintbushy@comcast.net
Tom Cuff  NOAA  thomas.cuff@noaa.gov    Patty Finsterbusch  TOTE pfinsterbusch@toteservices.com
Jerry Pannell  STAR Center   jpannell@star-center.com    Lee Chesneau Chesneau Weather lee@ChesneauMarineWeather.com
Kathleen Friel STAR Center  kfriel@star-center.com   Jack Rasmussen Bering Marine Services jackr@lynden.com 

 

Initial Potential Initiatives:

  • Weather Refresher Training CBT or other delivery mechanisms
  • Maritime Heavy Weather Best Practices Document
  • Awareness and Engagement Brochure 
  • Updated and new NOAA Heavy Weather Information Documents
  • Symbolic updates and modification
  • Other Weather Related Outreach Initiatives, Heavy Weather Awareness, Voluntary Weather Observer Engagement, training opportunities, and others

 

2017 SOCP Summer Webinar/Committee Meeting (Presentations)

  1. Introduction Extreme Weather Events at Sea Mariner Training - Patrick Dougan, PMI
  2. Volunteer Observing Ship Program Outreach & Training - Rob Neimeyer, NOAA VOS PMO
  3. Best Practices Recommended from Marine Weather Forecasts Providers & By Marine Weather Training & Trainers - Lee Chesneau, Lee Chesneau's Marine Weather

NOTES (Thank you Hayden Morse for taking notes!) 

 

2017 SOCP Fall Webinar/Committee Meeting (Presentations) 

Monday, October 30 Extreme Weather - Training and Best Practices Subcommittee Meeting Agenda and Presentations 

Meeting Notes and Action Items (Thank you Todd for providing notes.)

 

Visit SOCP Subcommittee on Extreme Weather -  Technology & Equipment