Subcommittee on Technology & Equipment

Related to Voluntary Automated Weather Observation

Leads: 

Joseph Sienkiewicz, NOAA  Joseph.Sienkiewicz@noaa.gov

Brian Tetreault, USACE  Brian.J.Tetreault@usace.army.mil

 

Participants: 

James Luciani  NOAA  james.luciani@noaa.gov        Dave Waldhauer  Crowley  dave.waldhauer@crowley.com
Rob Niemeyer NOAA rob.niemeyer@noaa.gov   Bob Sheen Ocean Shipholdings     rvs@oceanshipholdings.com
Rusty Albaral  NOAA  rusty.albaral@noaa.gov    Tom Bushy
captaintbushy@comcast.net
Tom Cuff  NOAA  thomas.cuff@noaa.gov    Tony Margan  MARAD anthony.margan@dot.gov
Greg Johnson Alion Science   gwjohnson@alionscience    Robert Lewald USCG robert.d.lewald@uscg.mil 
Patrick Dixon  Navy patrick.a.dixon@navy.mil  

Initial Potential Initiatives:

  • Weather Data Transmission Standards, international-IMO (AIS and VDR) and domestic (NOAA and Weather Services)
  • AIS Weather Data Transmission Technologies
  • VDR Weather Data Transmission Technologies
  • Weather Station Data Transmission Technologies
  • Other weather Data Transmission Technologies

 

2017 SOCP Summer Webinar/Committee Meeting (Presentations)

  1. Introduction, Data information and preferences - Joseph Sienkiewicz, NOAA
  2. Automated Weather Stations – Mike Petochny, James Luciani, Rob Neimeyer, NOAA VOS 
  3. VDR: Parameters, Leveraging Voyage Data Recorder (VDR) Technology for collecting and transmitting Vessel Observer Weather Data - Doug Mansell, NTSB
  4. Leveraging Automatic Identification System (AIS) for collection of observations: Parameters to automate, best ways to collect and disseminate data – Brian Tetreault, USACE 
  5. Autonomous Vessels, Vessel Weather Observations and Operational Considerations - Todd Ripley, MARAD  

NOTES (Thank you Hayden Morse for taking notes!)

 

2017 SOCP Fall Webinar/Committee Meeting (Presentations) 

Monday, October 30 Extreme Weather - Technology and Equipment Subcommittee Meeting Agenda and Presentations

Meeting Notes and Action Items (Thank you Todd for providing notes.)

 

Visit SOCP Subcommittee on Extreme Weather -  Weather Training and Best Practices