top of page


Safety and Health Working Group

Cole Cosgrove, Chair

  • Safety Data and Near Miss Reporting Standardization  

Security Working Group 

Robert Sheen, Chair

  • CyberSecurity (on-going), Project Executives: Bob Sheen, Ocean Shipholdings, Inc. & John Jorgensen

    • Cybersecurity Survey

    • Cyber Risk Management and SMS (ISM Code) Integration - Published: Active Standard ASTM F3449 (SOCP Press Release) 

Environmental Protection Working Group

Jan Hagen Andersen, Chair

  • SOCP User's Guide to Ballast Water Treatment Systems Project 

  • EPA SmartWay (On-going), Project Executive: Yanran Wang, DNV GL

  • SOCP 2017 Summer Webinar/Meeting META Presentation

SOCP Future Leaders Committee 

Catie Gianelloni, Co-Chair and Kyrm Hickman, Co-Chair

  • Massachusetts Maritime Academy Chapter

- Internship Program (on-going)

- Research Projects

- Presenters

Workforce Recruitment, Development, and Retention Working Group

Patty Finsterbusch, Co-Chair and Sarah Scherer, Co-Chair 

Emerging Technologies Working Group

Dustin Varnell, Chair

  • Autonomous Vessels

  • Additive Manufacturing

  • Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV)

Achieving a Respectful Onboard Culture Team (Formerly SASH Prevention)

Chris Nette, Co-Chair, Patty Finsterbusch, Co-Chair, and Catie Gianelloni, Co-Chair

Membership & Marketing Outreach Committee 

Jayson Toth, Co-Chair and Elizabeth Simmons, Co-Chair 

Marine Highways Committee 


bottom of page